Who’s Who entrants scoop up PM’s Literary Awards

Lana Wilson / August 20, 2013 01:25 PM

Who’s Who of Australian Women entrants Michelle de Kretser, Libby Gleeson and Who’s Who in Australia’s John Kinsella have all been honoured at The 2013 Prime Minister's Literary Awards.

Presented in Brisbane last Thursday evening, The PM’s Literary Awards recognises literary and writing excellence, with total cash prises - as much as $80,000 dollars for category winners and five thousand dollars for shortlisted authors - awarded tax-free. 

It’s the second major prize in less than six months for the critically acclaimed Author Michelle de Kretser, who’s expansive and vivid fiction novel Questions of Travel was lauded with the prestigious Miles Franklin Award earlier this year.

Also joining de Kretser in the winner’s stakes is Who’s Who in Australia entrant and established Poet and Author John Kinsella, collecting The PM’s Literary Award for Poetry for his recent collection titled Jam Tree Gully, as well as Who’s Who of Australian Women entrant Libby Gleeson for her children’s fiction book Red.

An established Poet, Academic, Novelist, Editor and Critic, it is the second win for Kinsella in the national prize, having won the same category in 2012 for his book ‘Armour’.

The 2013 Prime Minister's Literary Award Winners:

Question Of Travel _new Cover

Fiction: Michelle de Kretser – Questions of Travel

Australian -moment -george -megalogenis _0

Non-Fiction: George Megalogenis – The Australian Movement

Farewell -dear -people -ross -mcmullin _0

Australian History: Ross McMullin – Farewell, Dear People

Jam -tree -gully -john -kinsella _0

Poetry: John Kinsella – Jam Tree Gully

Fog -a -dox -bruce -pascoe _0

Young-Adult Fiction: Bruce Pascoe - Fog a Dox

Red -libby -gleeson _0

Children’s Fiction: Libby Gleeson - Red

All photos: arts.gov.au

Sources: Who's Who, ABC News, Fairfax, The Prime Minister's Literary Awards


Other Who’s Who News: