The 2013 Deadlys

Tayla Gentle / September 13, 2013 06:34 AM

The National Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Awards have rolled around again, and this year we saw many a Who’s Who entrant pick up a Deadly.

Indigenous Australian barrister and magistrate Pat O’Shane received the Marcia Langton lifetime achievement award for her work in the areas of indigenous rights and justice.

Born in far north Queensland, O’Shane was the only Aboriginal child in her class to graduate high school.

pa o'shane

Photo credit: SMH

Later, she went on to become the first female Aboriginal teacher in Queensland, the first Aboriginal person in the country to graduate law and the first woman to head up a government department.

O’Shane was joined on stage at a packed Sydney Opera house on Tuesday night by Sydney Swans AFL football player, Adam Goodes, who received the Ella lifetime achievement award for sport and anti-racism campaigning.

Musician Archie Roach was recognized for his work in helping to heal the stolen generations and took out Album of the Year for his latest release ‘Into the Bloodstream’.

Brought up as part of the turbulent Stolen Generations, Roach established himself early on in his musical career as a voice for the people and went on to win an International Human Rights Award for his dedication and efforts.

archie roach

Photo credit: SMH

"His work focused an international spotlight on the Stolen Generations and did much to mobilise Australia into action," the Deadlys audience was told.

Young songstress Jessica Mauboy also picked up two Deadlys, Single of the Year and Female Artist of the Year.

Country musician Troy Cassar-Daley was named Male Artist of the Year, while Deborah Mailman took out Female Actor of the Year for her role in The Sapphires, which also picked up a Deadly for Best Film of the Year.

 the sapphires

Jessica Mauboy and Deborah Mailman in 'The Sapphires' : The Morning Bulletin

Other notable mentions:

Dancer of the Year – Ella Havelka

Male Actor of the Year – Luke Carroll

Television Show of the Year – Redfern Now ABC

Community Broadcaster of the Year – John Harding 3CR

Health – Professor Pat Dudgeon

Jimmy Little Award for lifetime achievement in music – Steve Dodd

Sources: The Age, ABC

Other Who’s Who news: