Michelle de Kretser wins 2013 Miles Franklin Award

Lana Wilson / June 20, 2013 05:01 PM

Michelle de Kretser’s Questions of Travel has been hailed as a stunning story with timely themes surrounding modern travel and the internet.

Michelle De Kretser _smh

Photo: Sydney Morning Herald

Who’s Who of Australian Women and Who’s Who in Australia congratulates Michelle de Kretser, the winner of this year’s prestigious 2013 Miles Franklin Literary Award.

de Kretser, a former Fellow of Melbourne University’s Australian Centre, was unable to collect the $60,000 prize yesterday, as she was fulfilling a writers festival appearance in Norwich, England, however her publisher Jane Palfreyman, of Allen & Unwin, accepted the prize on her behalf at Canberra’s National Library of Australia.

“I know Michelle is thrilled and honoured that Questions of Travel has been chosen to win this year’s Miles Franklin Award, and deeply humbled to be the one selected from this illustrious shortlist,” she said.

One of the 2013 judges, Susan Sheridan, praised de Kretser’s novel, highlighting its depth.

“It covers a huge geographical and spiritual space, has these two stories and it’s absolutely brilliantly written,” she said.

de Kretser, a seasoned author with four other titles to her name, including The Lost Dog, The Hamilton Case, The Rose Grower and a Lonely Planet title Journeys: Brief Encounters is believed to be humbled over the win.

“I am just so completely overwhelmed,” The Australian reported the Sri Lankan born Writer saying on news of her win.

Overnight, the Miles Franklin Literary Awards’ official Twitter account has been branded with photos of de Kretser’s winning novel and profile picture, while congratulatory messages have spread across wider social media.

de Kretser’s touching story beat four other shortlisted nominees, including 2013 Stella Prize winner Carrie Tiffany’s Mateship With Birds, Romy Ash’s Floundering, Annah Faulkner’s The Beloved and Drusilla Modjeska’s The Mountain.

Questions of Travel unfolds the lives of an Australian woman and a Sri Lankan man over a forty year period, documenting geographical, social and cultural differences between the two characters before intertwining their lives.

The Miles Franklin Award is an annual Australian literary prize that was set up in honour of Author Miles Franklin in 1957.

Sources: Who’s Who, milesfranklin.com.au, The Age, The Australian

You can read more on the biography of Michelle de Kretser, as well as thousands of other prominent Australians, in Who’s Who Live. You can find out more here.


More Who’s Who news:
Mini Bio: Dennis O’Rourke
Fashion Victim: Lisa Ho to shut its doors
Who’s Who entrants shine at UNAA Environmental Awards