Female athletes share Australian Institute of Sports award

Emily Woods / November 21, 2013 11:10 AM

Who's Who entrants and Aussie sports stars, Caroline Buchanan and Kim Crow, were named joint Athlete of the Year at the Australian Institute of Sport (AIS) awards in Canberra last week.

Ais AwardsPhoto credits: SMH, AAP, Charles Robertson

Buchanan is a two-time BMX world champion, after taking out the BMX world title in New Zealand in August and the UCI Four Cross World Championship in Austria three weeks later.

Rowing world champion Crow became the first Australian to win a gold medal at the world rowing titles in South Korea in August this year.

The joint-winners came out on top after beating fellow finalists Matthew Dowdrey and Cate Campbell, athletics champion Evan O'Hanlon and snowboarder Alex Pullin to the trophy.

AIS Director Matt Favier congratulated Buchanan and Crow.

"Given the calibre of the finalists and the successful year they have all had in 2013 it was again a very difficult task to pull out a winner," Favier said.

"In the end we couldn't split the performances of Caroline and Kim.

"It demonstrates the strength of our sporting women in Australia and the constribution they are making to Australia's winning edge."

There were a string of other winners at the 2013 AIS awards, which were held on November 14.

Basketballer Dante Exum took out Junior Athlete of the Year, sailers Mathew Belcher and Will Ryan won Team of the Year, and Coach of the Year went to swimming coach Simon Cusack.

Alex Pullin recieved the AIS award for Performance of the Year and Geoff Lipshut from the Olympic Winter Institute won the Leadership Award.

Sources: ABC Online, Sydney Morning Herald, Australian Sports Commission

Other Who’s Who news: